An Open Letter to Life

#279 – The Daily Post Response

Posted on: October 14, 2011

Sometimes you can make a topic appear out of nothing at all. Do the following.

  1. Make sure you are somewhere safe.
  2. Guess how long you can keep your eyes closed.
  3. Close your eyes.
  4. Start counting.
  5. See how long you can go.
Write about any or all of:
  1. How close your guess was to your actual performance.
  2. What thoughts did your mind wander to while you were counting?
  3. Did you feel any fear? Why or why not?
This project was an eye-opener! (ha!) I never realized how loud silence is. My guess was that I could keep my eyes closed for 5 minutes. I made it 145 seconds, because my thoughts were moving so fast that I didn’t think I’d be able to remember them all because to me, they were all so good. So, here’s my thought process.
First, as soon as I closed my eyes I kept thinking about how much I wanted to open them. Then I thought, “Wow, I bet I look stupid sitting here tapping my feet every second.” Then my mind wandered somewhere I haven’t thought of in a long time. I know whoever reads this probably doesn’t know me personally at the moment, because I will be honest, friends in my life are few and far between. As sad as it is to say, I wish I had someone to be “best friends” with, but this is for another blog on a rainy day. Anywho, my mind wandered to a ‘friend’ I thought I had a few days ago. I fight occurred, and I just dropped the situation like a hot potato, blocked this person from facebook so I could no longer be put in the middle of the drama, and during this silence I had all I could think about is how much I felt bad, but when I opened my eyes the sadness I felt wasn’t present. It’s like,when I closed my eyes my inner self was letting me, the outer self, know that deep down I was hurt. So that was surprising. Then my next thought happened, and it never really occurred to me that I had an interest in something like this. A few days ago I heard some news that my sister was starting a new business in her town, and that got me thinking on how I’ve always admired her for all that she has done in her life that I would like to one day own my own business. I am a licensed cosmetologist and I had always thought that I would own a salon and yada yada yada. But, the ‘friend’ I mentioned above that we had a falling out, we use to go out a lot on the weekends to bars and shoot some pool and go out to eat. They (they as in, we had a falling out with another couple) were the first people that we did such things with. I realized after all those times of us hanging out that I enjoyed the social and friendly environment of  sports bars and this sparked an idea that my business that I want to own is a local sports bar. So, as I was sitting in my loud silence I was thinking more of my future and how I wanted to own my own bar, and how I wanted to decorate my future house, and it was actually spinning out of control. I think I have found something that I want to feel excited about. I didn’t feel fear at all or anything, it was a happy loud silence 🙂
Well, I guess that’s enough of that. Getting personal on the blog here haha….I guess that’s the point right?
2 Responses to "#279 – The Daily Post Response"

I can relate to you with your friend situation. My best friend (who is really more like a sister since we grew up together) and I recently parted ways, not by my choice. It’s really hard to lose friends, it’s almost like a break-up in a way. I don’t want to ramble on about myself, but I just wanted to say that I understand that sadness you’re talking about.

Also, how awesome would it to be own a sports bar?! What a great idea. Sometimes I think about my future and all the little details like where I’ll live and what it will all look like. It’s fun to fantasize about it and hopefully one day, we can make our dreams a reality!

I feel the same way, that’s why I’m trying to focus on what I need to do to get to that point. It feels so far away, but hopefully in maybe 6-9 years time I’ll look back and think, “wow I’ve accomplished a lot”.

And as for my friend, it hurts to think about how much time we spend together and how much time my boyfriend and I spend with their child, and poof it’s all gone. Things happen for a reason, so I’m going to let it unfold as it may.

Speak your mind here ♥

This is Me

Facebook. I use this way more

Twitter

Blogging U.
