An Open Letter to Life

#277 The Daily Post – Response

Posted on: October 13, 2011

I guess I will start by posting something that is rather unknown to me. I long to go to school, but yet at the same time I am perfectly happy in the situation I’m in (some parts could be modified a tad, but for now this is what I call normal).  So, instead of paying for a time filler, I’ll do it for free. From now on, I will (and I’ll try very hard to keep up with this) post something on here every day.  Not just anything, but I will try and do “The Daily Post” every day, because they look like lots of fun.

Here it goes 🙂

Topic :

Write a short story that ends with the following sentence:

Having learned his lesson, it was the last time Dr. Jiggybones would  let the crossbeams get out of skew on the treadle.

It can be a short story of just a paragraph or two.

The Tale of Dr. Jiggybones and Mrs. Mertz

Prior to A-Day, Dr. Jiggybones was never the type to listen to what people had to say, he felt as though everyone was “beneath” him, due to the fact that their names did not bear a prefix. On the  Tuesday before the accident, Dr. Jiggybones and Mrs. Mertz did as they usually did on any normal day. Walked into work, and sat down at their work stations and began to make quilts. Since they worked so close together, they always made conversations. I wouldn’t say friendly conversation, because Mrs. Mertz really didn’t like Dr. Jiggybones because he always gloated about his “higher education”,  and Mrs. Mertz didn’t particularly care for this kind of attitude. So, as Dr. Jiggybones was talking about when he went to Quilt State University, again, and  announcing all the classes that he had to take to get his Doctorate in Quilting, again, he wasn’t paying attention to the quilt he was making. The company had grown quite accustomed to his, not quite up to par quilts. Nevertheless, they kept him on payroll. As he was chatting, and being ever so careless, he pushed just a little too hard on his treadle and knocked his crossbeam out of skew and caused the needle in the machine to pop out and luckliy for him, get caught up in the material. Mrs. Mertz being the wonderful fake friend that she was, made it a point to let everyone know that he had in fact, made a mistake. Dr. Jiggybones, being the egotistical person that he was, made sure that for the next few days kept his “eyes on the prize” so to speak. They did not speak for 4 days, then the accident day came.

On accident day or  A-day, refers to the demise of Dr. Jiggybones. The day that he, Doctoral graduate of Quilt State University, would be brought down to a peg or 4. On this day, he had come to realize in his own mind that someone of his educational level did not need to be so careful, because he had the proper education and training to know what to do when every situation occurred.  He began to speak to his old ‘pal’ Mrs. Mertz, and again refer to his days at QSU. As his mind drifted to the days of  Quilting Parties and Needle Pong, his foot began to drift harder and harder towards the floor. As he was recalling the time that he had experimented with crocheting and knitting, his crossbeam SNAPPED, breaking into two. Then the machine jolted, spitting out the needle and straight into Dr.Jiggybones’ pointer and middle finger tips. Blood was everywhere and he was just in shock, not one word came to his lips. Mrs.Mertz saw his blank and pale expression, and looked into his work area, saw the blood stained quilt and uttered one sentence “Well, I guess you’re going to have to see the doctor that actually matters in this world!”, as she was laughing hysterically. Dr. Jiggybone never practiced quilting again. To this day, no one know’s what ever became of Dr. Jiggybones after the accident. Having learned his lesson, it was the last time Dr. Jiggybones would let the crossbeams get out of skew on the treadle.

8 Responses to "#277 The Daily Post – Response"

This was pretty cool. I read over the topic and tried to think of something on my own in my head. I was stumped. Nice job lady!

lol thanks, I started writing at like 8 this morning and finished at like 11, so really think about it too

Great story, I enjoyed reading it! 🙂

Thanks, means a lot to me that you enjoyed it! Are you doing the challenge as well?

Good story!
Well I hope you keep writing stories and maybe a little about games 🙂
And I like the theme, its easy on my eyes.

Thank you, I’ve been messing with this theme so much I had to get it perfect. I’m glad someone noticed. Hopefully the topic tomorrow lets me venture out into something about games. I’ve actually considered writing multiple stories for each topic.

I really enjoyed your story. Nicely done!

Thank you so much, my first time doing it! Pretty excited to see what the topic for tomorrow is going to be.

Speak your mind here ♥

This is Me

Facebook. I use this way more

Twitter

Blogging U.
